Early Days Nursery, Fun and Learning Every Day

The Early Years Foundation Stage – Published March 2014

What is it?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) 2014 is a document for us, as early years providers, to help us support your child’s learning and development from birth to five years old. All early years providers must follow the EYFS 2014 (effective from September 2014).

Who makes sure that registered early years providers are following the EYFS?

All registered early years providers are inspected to make sure they meet the legal requirements of the EYFS. This is normally done by Ofsted.

What is the purpose of implementing the EYFS Framework 2014?

The implementation of the EYFS ensures that we are providing a service and care which includes:-

  • We must keep to staff to child ratio requirements.
  • We must make sure that our staff are suitable.
  • We must make sure our premises are secure and the equipment is safe for your child to use.
  • We must be accessing training and providing supervision for all staff to make sure that they fully understand their roles and responsibilities.
  • We must keep full records of how to keep and give medicines and who is trained to do this.
  • We must have strict data protection and a system to protect confidential information.
  • We should have a named person for the management of behaviour.

How else does the EYFS support my child?

The EYFS also sets out what we, as an early years provider, must do to make sure that your child learns and develops. It promotes teaching and learning through play to make sure all children have the skills for future life. We must make sure that all staff are fully aware of what they have to do, to make sure your child’s individual needs are met through the EYFS.

Who will make sure my child’s learning and care is tailored to them?

Your child will be assigned a key person when they start at our setting. You will be told the name of the key person and their role. The key person is there to make sure that your child’s learning and care is tailored to meet their individual needs, through discussion with you. They will also support you in giving you ideas on what learning you can do at home with your child.

What will you be doing with my child?

We must think about the individual needs, interests and stages of development of each child in our care. Through care and play we will support learning. All planning is based around the children’s interest. There is a balance between child – initiated and adult – led activities.

Learning and Development requirements of the EYFS 2014

Within the EYFS 2014 there are 7 areas of learning and development. These are divided into 3 prime areas of learning and 4 specific areas within which the prime areas are applied and strengthened (see below).


1. Personal, social and emotional development

  • Making relationships
  • Self-confidence and self-awareness
  • Managing feelings and behaviour

2. Physical development

  • Moving and handling
  • Health and self-care

3. Communication and language

  • Listening and attention
  • Understanding
  • Speaking


1. Literacy

  • Reading
  • Writing

2. Mathematics

  • Numbers
  • Shape, space and measure

3. Understanding the world

  • People and communities
  • The world
  • Technology

4. Expressive arts and design

  • Exploring and using media and material
  • Being imaginative

How will you check my child is developing in line with the EYFS requirements?

Your child’s key person will discuss your child’s development and interests with you to make sure they are progressing well with us and at home. Observations will be made in relation to the Early Learning Goals being met by each child. We follow the assessment requirements. This will support them, and you, to plan a challenging environment and play based activities to progress your child’s learning. This will happen on a regular basis. There are two required progress checks which take place during EYFS. The first is when your child is between two and three years old and the second in the final term of the year in which your child reaches the age of five.

How does my child learn?

There are 3 main ways that children learn (3 characteristics of effective teaching and learning).

  • Playing and exploring
  • Active learning
  • Creative and thinking critically

We observe and assess your child and reflect on the different ways your child learns. This will in turn form our planning and will guide the activities planned for your child.

What if I’m worried about my child’s development?

If you’re worried about your child’s progress, talk to your child’s key person and together you can agree how best to support your child. If your child’s home language is not English, we will give them opportunities to develop and use their home language in play and learning to support their language development at home. Please make us aware of the language you are using at home. We need to know the key vocabulary so that we can use this in nursery too. We will also make sure your child has enough opportunities to learn and reach a good standard in English language during the EYFS.

How can I find out more?

Talk to your child’s key person who will be happy to answer any questions you have. You can also view a copy of the Statutory and non-statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage 2014 on the Department for Education website.